Presidential 2009


An election took place on 18 July 2009.

Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz (Union for the Republic) 52.58%
Messaoud Ould Boulkheir (Popular Alliance for Progress/National Front for the Defense of Democracy) 16.29%
Ahmed Ould Daddah (Rally of Democratic Forces) 13.66%
Mohamed Jemil Ould Mansour (National Rally for Reform and Development) 4.76%
Ibrahima Moctar Sarr (Alliance for Justice and Democracy/Movement for Renewal) 4.59%
Ely Ould Mohamed Vall 3.81%
Kane Hamidou Baba 1.49%
Saleh Ould Hanenna (Mauritanian Party of Union and Change) 1.31%
Hamada Ould Meimou 1.28%
Sghair Ould M’Bareck 0.23%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact