Parliamentary 2007


Elections to the Assembly of Representatives took place on 7 September 2007.

Independence Party (Hizb al-Istiqlal/Parti d’Independence) 52
Justice and Development Party (Parti de la Justice et du Développement) 46
Popular Movement (Mouvement Populaire) 41
National Rally of Independents (Rassemblement National des Indépendents) 39
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (Union Socialiste des Forces Populaires) 38
Constitutional Union (Union Constitutionelle) 27
Party of Progress and Socialism (Parti du Progrès et du Socialisme) 17
PND–Al Ahd Union (Union PND–Al Ahd)
Joint list 8
National Democratic Party (Parti National-Démocrate) 3
Covenant Party (Parti Al Ahd) 3
Front of Democratic Forces (Front des Forces Démocratiques) 9
Democratic and Social Movement (Mouvement Démocratique et Social) 9
Joint list 5
National Congress Party (Parti du Congrès National Ittihadi) 1
Democratic Socialist Vanguard Party (Parti de l’Avant-garde Démocratique Socialiste) 0
United Socialist Party (Parti socialiste unifié) 0
Labour Party (Parti Travailliste) 5
Environment and Development Party (Parti de l’Environnement et du Développement) 5
Party of Renewal and Equity (Parti de Renouveau et de l’Équité) 4
Socialist Party (Parti Socialiste) 2
Moroccan Union for Democracy (Union Marocaine pour la Démocratie) 2
Citizens’ Forces (Forces Citoyennes) 1
Alliance of Liberties (Alliance des Libertés) 1
Citizenship and Development Initiative (Initiative Citoyenneté et Développement) 1
Party of Renaissance and Virtue (Parti de la Renaissance et de la Vertu) 1
Others 5
Total 325

Turnout: 37%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact