Parliamentary 2009


An election to the National Assembly took place on 27-28 November 2009.

South West Africa People’s Organization 54
Rally for Democracy and Progress 8
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance 2
National Unity Democratic Organization 2
United Democratic Front 2
All People’s Party 1
Republican Party 1
Congress of Democrats 1
South West Africa National Union 1
Monitor Action Group 0
Democratic Party of Namibia 0
Namibian Democratic Movement for Change 0
National Democratic Party 0
Communist Party of Namibia 0
Total 72

Votes: 811,143
Turnout: 72%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact