Presidential 2006


An election took place on 5 November 2006.

José Daniel Ortega Saavedra (Sandinista National Liberation Front) 38.07%
Eduardo Montealegre Rivas (Nicaraguan Liberal Alliance) 29.00%
José Rizo Castellón (Constitutionalist Liberal Party) 26.51%
Edmundo Jarquín Calderón (Sandinista Renovation Movement) 6.44%
Edén Atanacio Pastora Gómez (Alternative for Change) 0.27%

Registered electors: 3,665,141
Votes: 2,449,901
Turnout: 66.84%

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact