Presidential 2011


In the second round of elections which took place on 12 March, Mahamadou Issoufou (Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism) received 57.95% of the vote and Seyni Oumarou (National Movement for the Development of Society) received 42.05%.

Issoufou has therefore been elected President, subject to verification by the Supreme Court.

In the first round, which took place on 31 January, results were as follows:

Mahamadou Issoufou (PNDS-Tarayya) 36.06%
Seyni Oumarou (MNSD-Nassara)  23.24%
Hama Amadou (MDN)  19.82%
Mahamane Ousmane (CDS-Rahama) 8.42%
Amadou Cheiffou (Social Democratic Rally)  4.07%
Moussa Moumouni Djermakoye (ANDP–Zaman Lahiya)  3.95%

There were a further 4 candidates, each receiving less than 2% of the vote. Turnout was 48.17%, down from the 52.83% of the first round.

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact