Presidential 2008


An indirect election took place on 6 September 2008. The President was elected by an Electoral College composed of the Senate, National Assembly and Provincial Assemblies.

Asif Ali Zardari (Pakistan People’s Party) 481
Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui (Pakistan Muslim League (N) 153
Mushahid Hussain Syed (Pakistan Muslim League (Q) 44

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact