Parliamentary 2009


An election to the Assembly took place on 9 May 2009.

Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party 28
Maldivian Democratic Party 26
People’s Alliance 7
Dhivehi Qaumee Party 2
Republican Party 1
Adhaalath Party 0
Social Liberal Party 0
Gaumee Itthihaad 0
Islamic Democratic Party 0
Maldives National Congress 0
Poverty Alleviating Party (DFP) 0
Independents 13
Total 77

Votes: 166,105

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact