Parliamentary 2009


An election to the National Assembly (Majlis an-Nuwwab) took place on 7 June 2009.

March 14 Alliance
Future Movement 26
Progressive Socialist Party 11
Independents 14 de March 13
Lebanese Forces 8
Lebanese Social Democratic Party (Hizb al-Kataeb) 5
Social Democrat Hunchakian Party 2
Jamaa al-Islamiya 1
Armenian Democratic Liberal Party 1
Democratic Left Movement (ĥarakatu-l-yasāri-d-dimuqrātī) 1
National Liberal Party (Hizbu-l-waTaniyyīni-l-aHrār) 1
March 8 Alliance
Free Patriotic Movement (Tayyar Al-Watani Al-Horr) 18
Amal Movement (Harakat Amal) 13
Hezbollah 12
Lebanese Democratic Party (Hizb al-democraty al-lubnany) 4
Marada Movement 3
Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Tashnag) 2
Syrian Social National Party (al-Hizb al-Qawmi al-souri al ijtima’i) 2
Arab Socialist Baath Party 2
Solidarity Party (Hizb Al-Tadamon Al-Lubnany) 1
Total 128

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com