Parliamentary 2008


An election took place on 29 March 2008.

House of Assembly

Movement for Democratic Change-Tsvangirai 100
Movement for Democratic Change-Mutambara 10
Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front 99
Independents 1
Total 210

Registered Voters: 5,612,464
A further 12 parties each received less than one percent of the vote


According to the Constitution the Senate has 93 members. Of these:

  • 60 are elected, with 6 coming from each of 10 provinces
  • 10 provincial governors, appointed by the incoming President, are ex officio members
  • The President and Deputy President of the Council of Chiefs are ex officio members
  • 16 chiefs are elected by the Provincial Assemblies of Chiefs. These elections took place on 31 March 2008. The Chiefs traditionally vote with ZANU-PF
  • 5 members are directly appointed by the incoming President.

In the Senate elections results were as follows:

MDC-Tsvangirai 24
MDC-Mutambara 6

Source: www.kubatana.net

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com