Parliamentary 2010


First round elections were held on 28 November 2010 and second round on 5 December 2010 which gave results as follows:

National Democratic Party (Al’Hizb Al Watani Al Democrati) 420
New Wafd Party (Hizb al-Wafd-al-Jadid) 6
Progressive National Unionist Party (Hizb al Tagammo’ al Watani al Taqadommi al Wahdwawi) 5
Tomorrow Party (Hizb al-Ghad) 1
Arab Democratic Nasserist Party or Nasserist Party 0
Liberal Party (Hizb al-Ahrar) 0
Social Justice Party (Hizb Al-‘Adala al- Ijtima’iyya) 1
Democratic Generation Party (Hizb El-Geel al-Democrati) 1
Democratic Peace Party (Hizb El-Salaam al-Democrati) 1
Independents (Muslim Brotherhood – al-ikhwān al-muslimūn) 1
Others 68
Still in contest 4
Unelected 10
Total 518

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact