Parliamentary 2008


An election to the Constituent Assembly took place on 10 April 2008.

Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) 229
Nepali Congress 115
Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) 108
Madhesi Jana Adhikar Forum, Nepal 54
Tarai-Madhesh Loktantrik Party 21
Communist Party of Nepal (Marxist-Leninist) 9
Sadbhavana Party 9
Rastriya Prajatantra Party 8
Janamorcha Nepal 8
Communist Party of Nepal (United) 5
Nepal Workers Peasants Party 5
Rastriya Prajatantra Party Nepal 4
Rastriya Janamorcha 4
Rastriya Janshakti Party 3
Nepal Sadbhavana Party (Anandidevi) 3
Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch 2
Rastriya Janamukti Party 2
Nepali Janata Dal 2
Communist Party of Nepal (Unified) 2
Dalit Janajati Party 1
Nepa Rastriya Party 1
Samajbadi Prajatantrik Janata Party 1
Chure Bhawar Rastriya Ekta Party 1
Nepal Loktantrik Samajbadi Dal 1
Nepal Parivar Dal 1
Independents 2
Total 601


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact