Papua New Guinea

Parliamentary 2007


An election to the House of Assembly took place between 30 June and 14 July 2007. Results were as follows:

National Alliance Party 27
Papua New Guinea Party 8
People’s Action Party 6
Pangu Party 5
People’s Democratic Movement 5
United Resources Party 5
People’s Progress Party 4
New Generation Party 4
People’s National Congress Party 4
People’s Party 3
Rural Development Party 4
Melanesian Liberal Party 2
People’s Labour Party 2
PNG Country Party 2
United Party 2
Melanesian Alliance Party 1
National Advance Party 1
Pipol First Party 1
PNG Labour Party 1
PNG National Party 1
PNG Conservative Party 1
*Independents 20
Total 109

These figures show those elected, although a number of members joined other parties immediately after the election.

*The election of James Yali was nullified and Niuro Toko was elected (also as an Independent) in the by-election of 10-16 November 2007.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact