Sierra Leone

Presidential 2007


Elections took place in two rounds, on 11 August and 8 September 2007.

Ernest Bai Koroma (All Peoples Congress) 44.3%
Solomon E Berewa (Sierra Leone People’s Party) 38.3%
Charles F Margai (People’s Movement For Democratic Change) 13.9%
Andrew Turay (The Convention People’s Party) 1.6%
Alhaji Amadu Jalloh (National Democratic Alliance) 1.0%
Kandeh Baba Conteh (Peace and Liberation Party) 0.6%
Abdul Kady Karim (United National Peoples Party) 0.4%

Votes: 1,984,106
Turnout: 75.8%

In the second round, which took place on 8 September 2007, Solomon Berewa received 45.4% of the vote. Ernest Bai Koroma received 54.6% and was therefore elected President.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact