Presidential 2008


The first round of the election was primary election held on September 23, 2008. Results were as follows:

Johnson Toribiong 27.49%
Elias Chin 32.95%
Surangel Whipps 24.47%
Joshua Koshiba 15.10%

In the second round, which took place on 4 November 2008, Elias Chin received 48.88% of the vote. Johnson Toribiong received 51.1% of the vote and was therefore elected president.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact