Presidential 2008


An indirect election by parliament took place in two rounds, on 19 and 21 July 2008. Results in the first round were as follows:

Ram Baran Yadav (Nepali Congress, Communist Party of Nepal-UML, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum) 283
Ramraja Prasad Singh (Communist Party of Nepal) 270

In the second round runoff on 21 July 2008, Ramraja Prasad received 282 votes. Ram Baran Yadav received 308 and was therefore elected President.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact