Sri Lanka

Presidential 2010


An election was held on 26 January 2010.

Mahinda Rajapaksha 57.88%
Sarath Fonseka 40.15%
Mohomad Cassim Mohomad Ismail 0.38%
Achala Ashoka Suraweera 0.25%
Channa Janaka Sugathsiri Gamage 0.22%
W.V. Mahiman Ranjith 0.18%
Panagoda Don Prince Soloman Anura Liyanage 0.14%

and a further fifteen candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote

Registered voters: 14,088,500
Turnout: 74.49%
Votes: 10,495,451

Source: Department of Elections, Sri Lanka

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact