Presidential 2006


The Presidential election went to two rounds which took place on 9 April and 4 June 2006.

In the second round Alan García Pérez (Peruvian Aprista Party) received 54.7% of the vote and Ollanta Humala Tasso (Union for Peru) 45.3%. Alan García was therefore elected with the next elections scheduled for 2011.

Ollanta Humala Tasso (Union for Peru) 30.6%
Alan García Pérez (Peruvian Aprista Party) 24.3%
Lourdes Flores Nano (National Unity) 23.8%
Martha Chávez Cossio (Alliance for the Future) 7.4%
Valentín Paniagua Corazao (Center Front) 5.8%
Humberto Lay Sun (National Restoration) 4.4%

There were a further 14 candidates who each received less than 1% of the vote.

Registered voters: 16,494,906
Total votes: 14,632,003

Turnout for the Presidential election was said to be 88.7% in the first round and 87.7% in the second round.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact