Presidential 2006


The Presidential election went to two rounds which took place on 5 and 19 March.

In the second round Yayi Boni received 74.60% of the vote and Adrien Houngbédji (PRD) came second with 25.40%. Yayi Boni was elected President.

First round results:

Yayi Boni 35.78%
Adrien Houngbédji (PRD) 24.22%
Bruno Amoussou (PSD) 16.29%
Léhadi Soglo (RB) 8.44%
Antoine Kolawolé Idji (MADEP) 3.25%
Lazare Sèhouéto (MAP) 2.04%
Sévérin Adjovi (RDL-Vivoten) 1.78%
Antoine Dayori (FE) 1.25%

There were an additional 18 candidates in the first round all of whom received less than 1% of the vote.

Second round:

Registered voters: 3,919,550
Total Votes: 2,725,634
Turnout: 69.%% (First round: 81.7%)


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact