Central African Republic

Presidential 2015/2016


The election took place in two rounds, on 30 December 2015 and 14 February 2016. In the first round the results were as follows:

Anicet-Georges Dologuélé (Union for Central African Renewal) 23.74%
Faustin-Archange Touadéra (Independent) 19.05%
Désiré Kolingba (Central African Democratic Rally) 12.04%
Martin Ziguélé (Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People) 11.43%
Jean-Serge Bokassa 6.06%
Charles-Armel Doubane (Independent) 3.63%
Jean-Michel Mandaba (Party for Democratic Governance) 3.13%
Sylvain Patassé-Ngakoutou (Central African New Momentum) 2.76%
Abdou Karim Meckassoua (Independent) 2.74%
Gaston Mandata Nguérékata (Party of the Central African Renaissance) 1.98%
Jean-Barkès Ngombe-Ketté (Independent) 1.67%
Timoléon Baikoua (Independent) 1.52%
Fidèle Gouandjika (Independent) 1.36%
Théodore Kapou (Independent) 1.17%

A further sixteen candidates each received less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 1,954,433
Votes: 1,132,886
Turnout: 59.01%

In the second round which took place on 14 February 2016, Anicet-Georges Dologuélé received 37.29% of the vote. Faustin-Archange Touadéra received 62.71% of the vote and was therefore elected president.

Source: http://www.anerca.org/index.php/elections-presidentielles/2eme-tour/74-2eme-tour-presidentielles-resultats-provisoires

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com