Presidential 2006


An election took place on 3 May 2006.

Idriss Déby was elected as President in the first round with 64.67% of the vote. Delwa Kassiré Coumakoye (Viva-RNDP) came second with 15.13%. This election was boycotted by most of the main opposition parties.

Idriss Déby Itno (MPS) 64.67%
Delwa Kassiré Coumakoye (Viva-RNDP) 15.13%
Albert Pahimi Padacké (RNDT-Le Réveil) 7.82%
Mahamat Abdoulaye (MPDT) 7.07%
Brahim Koulamallah (MSA-R) 5.31%

Registered voters: 5,697,922
Total votes: 3,024,226
Turnout: 53.1%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact