El Salvador

Presidential 2014


The election took place in two rounds, on 2 February and 9 March 2014. In the forst round, results were as follows:

Salvador Sánchez Cerén (Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front) 48.93%
Norman Quijano (Nationalist Republican Alliance) 38.96%
Antonio Saca (Unity Movement) 11.44%
René Rodriguez Hurtado (Salvadoran Progressive Party) 0.42%
Óscar Lemus (Salvadoran Patriot Fraternity) 0.25%

In the second round runoff, which took place on 9 March 2014, Norman Quijano received 49.89% of the vote. Salvador Sánchez Cerén received 50.11% of the vote and was therefore elected president.

Registered electors : 4,955,107
Votes: 2,723,246
Turnout: 60.64%

Source: www.tse.gob.sv

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com