Presidential 2008


In the first round which was held on 29 March 2008 the results were as follows:

Morgan Tsvangirai (MDC) 47.87%
Robert Mugabe (Zanu PF) 43.24%
Simba Makoni (Independent) 8.31%
Langton Towungana (Independent) 0.58%

In the second round held on 27 June 2008, Morgan Tsvangirai received 9.4% of the vote; Robert Mugabe, who received 85.3%, was therefore re-elected.

Turnout was reported as 42.7% in the first round and 43.01% in the second round.

Source: www.kubatana.net

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com