Presidential 2006


The Presidential election went to two rounds which took place on 15 and 29 January 2006. In the second round Tarja Halonen (SDP) received 51.8% of the vote and Sauli Niinistö (IOC) received 48.2%. Tarja was therefore elected for a six-year term.

First round

Tarja Halonen (SDP) 46.3%
Sauli Niinistö (IOC) 24.1%
Matti Vanhanen (CENT) 18.6%
Heidi Hautala (GREEN) 3.5%
Timo Soini (PS) 3.4%
Bjarne Kallis (KD) 2.0%
Henrik Lax (RKP) 1.6%
Arto Lahti (LAHTI) 0.4%

Turnout for the Presidential election was said to be 73.9% in the first round and 77.2% in the second round.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact