Presidential 2014-2015


Indirect elections took place with a first ballot on 17 December 2014, followed by inconclusive ballots on 23 and 29 December.

Following the dissolution of Parliament and the subsequent general election, the ballot┬áresumed with the inclusion of a SYRIZA nominated candidate. On 18 February that candidate,┬áProkopis Pavlopoulos, was elected president with 233 votes; Nikos Alivizatos received 30 votes. The 32 Communist and Golden Dawn MPs voted ‘Present’ and there were a further 5 Abstentions.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact