Presidential 2013


The election, which had previously taken place but annulled, then took place on in two rounds on 9 November and 16 November 2013. In the first round results were as follows:

Mohamed Nasheed (Maldivian Democratic Party) 46.93%
Abdulla Yameen (Progressive Party of Maldives) 29.72%
Qasim Ibrahim (Jumhooree Party) 23.35%

Registered electors: 239,593
Votes: 208,504
Turnout: 91.41%

In the second round, which took place on 18 November 2013, Mohamed Nasheed received 48.61% of the vote. Abdulla Yaameen Abdul Gayoom received 51.39% of the vote and was therefore elected president

<sup>Source: Maldive Government Results</sup>

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact