Presidential 2016


The election took place in two rounds, on 21 February and 20 March 2016. In the first round, results were as follows:

Mahamadou Issoufou (Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism) 48.43%
Hama Amadou (Nigerien Democratic Movement for an African Federation) 17.73%
Seyni Oumarou (National Movement for the Development of Society) 12.12%
Mahamane Ousmane (Nigerien Movement for Democratic Renewal) 6.25%
Ibrahim Yacouba (Nigerien Patriotic Movement) 4.34%
Kassoum Moctar (Congress for the Republic) 2.91%
Abdou Labo (Democratic and Social Convention) 2.09%
Amadou Cheiffou (Social Democratic Rally) 1.78%
Amadou Cissé (Union for Democracy and the Republic) 1.49%

A further six candidates each received less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 7,580,598
Votes: 5,065,456
Turnout: 66.82%

In the second round, which took place on 20 March 2016, Hama Amadou received 7.51% of the vote. Mahamadou Issoufou received 92.49% and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 59.79%.


Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact