Presidential 2016


An election took place on 24 January 2016.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa (Social Democratic Party, People’s Party, People’s Monarchist Party) 52.00%
António Sampaio da Nóvoa (Independent supported by Portuguese Workers’ Communist Party) 22.88%
Marisa Matias (Left Bloc, Socialist Alternative Movement) 10.12%
Maria de Belém (Independent) 4.24%
Edgar Silva (Portuguese Communist Party) 3.94%
Vitorino Silva (Independent) 3.28%
Paulo de Morais (Independent) 2.16%

And a further three candidates who each received less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 9,750,508
Votes: 4,744,597
Turnout: 48.66%

Source: www.cne.pt

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com