Sao Tome and Principe

Presidential 2016


First round elections took place on 17 July 2016 and resulted in no outright winner. A second round runoff took place on 7 August 2016.

First round results were as follows:

Evaristo Carvalho (Independent Democratic Action) 49.88%
Manuel Pinto da Costa (Independent) 24.84%
Maria das Neves (MLSTP/PSD) 24.31%
Manuel do Rosário (Independent) 0.69%
Hélder Barros (Independent) 0.28%

Registered electors: 111,222
Votes: 71,524
Turnout: 46.06%

In the second round run-off Evaristo Carvalho received 100% of the votes as da Costa withdrew, citing electoral fraud. Carvalho was therefore elected president.


Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact