Presidential 2008


The election took place in two rounds on 20 January and 3 February 2008. First rounds results were as follows:

Boris Tadić (Democratic Party) 35.39%
Tomislav Nikolić (Serbian Radical Party) 39.99%
Velimir Ilić (New Serbia) 7.43%
Milutin Mrkonjić (Socialist Party of Serbia) 5.97%
Čedomir Jovanović (Liberal Democratic Party) 5.34%
István Pásztor (Hungarian Coalition) 2.26%
Milanka Karić (Serbian Strength Movement) 0.98%
Marijan Rističević (People’s Peasant Party) 0.45%
Jugoslav Dobričanin (Reformist Party) 0.29%

Registered electors: 6,708,697
Votes: 4,116,844
Turnout: 61.37%

In the second round runoff, which took place on 3 February 2008. Tomislav Nikolić received 47.97% of the vote. Boris Tadić received 50.31% of the vote and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 68.12%.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact