Presidential 2014


The election took place in two rounds, on 26 October and 30 November 2014.

Tabaré Vázquez (Broad Front) 49.45%
Luis Alberto Lacalle Pou (National Party) 31.94%
Pedro Bordaberry (Colorado Party) 13.33%
Pablo Mieres (Independent Party) 3.20%
Gonzalo Abella (Popular Assembly) 1.17%
César Vega (Partido Ecologista Radical Intransigente) 0.78%
Rafael Fernández (Workers’ Party) 0.14%

Registered electors: 2, 620,791
Votes: 2,372,117
Turnout: 90.51%

In the second round run-off which took place on 30 November 2014, Luis Alberto Lacalle Pou received 43.37% of the vote. Tabaré Vázquez received 56.63% of the vote and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 88.57%.

,sup>Source: www.corteelectoral.gub.uy

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com