Presidential 2007


An election was held on 25 February 2007.

Abdoulaye Wade (Senegalese Democratic Party) 55.90%
Idrissa Seck (Rewmi Party) 14.92%
Ousmane Tanor Dieng (Socialist Party of Senegal) 13.56%
Moustapha Niasse (Alliance of Progress Forces) 5.93%
Robert Sagna (Takku Defaraat Sénégal) 2.58%
Abdoulaye Bathily (Democratic League/Movement for the Labour Party) 2.21%
Landing Savané (And-Jëf/African Party for Democracy and Socialism) 2.07%

And a further 8 candidates who each received less than 1% of the vote.

Turnout: 70.5%

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact