Presidential 2012


Elections took place in two rounds.  In the first round, which took place on 26 February 2012, results were as follows:

Macky Sall (Alliance for the Republic) 26.58%
Abdoulaye Wade (Senegalese Democratic Party) 34.81%
Moustapha Niasse (Alliance of the Forces of Progress/United to Boost Senegal) 13.20%
Ousmane Tanor Dieng (Socialist Party of Senegal) 11.30%
Idrissa Seck (Rewmi) 7.86%
Cheikh Bamba Dièye (Front for Socialism and Democracy/Benno Jubël) 1.93%
Ibrahima Fall (Independent) 1.81%
Cheikh Tidiane Gadio (Citizen Political Movement) 0.98%
Mor Dieng (Party of Hope) 0.42%
Djibril Ngom (Independent) 0.38%
Oumar Khassimou Dia (Humanist Party Ñaxx Jariñu) 0.24%
Amsatou Sow Sidibé (Convergence Movement of Actors for the Defence of Republican Values–Lennen) 0.19%
Doudou Ndoye (Union for the Republic) 0.17%
Diouma Dieng Diakhaté (Jogal Democratic Initiative Party) 0.12%

Votes: 2,735,135
Turnout: 51.6%

In the second round runoff, which took place on 25 March 2012, Abdoulaye Wade received 34.2% of the vote. Macky Sall received 65.8% of the vote and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 57.12%.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact