Presidential 2007


Two first round election attempts took place on 27 April (which was annulled by the constitutional court) and 6 May 2007. In the intervening period a snap election was called before a further first round on 20 August, with the subsequent two rounds taking place on 24 and 28 August.

  1st 2nd 3rd
Abdullah Gül Justice and Development Party (Adalet ve Kalkınma Partisi) 341 337 339
Sabahattin Çakmakoğlu Nationalist Movement Party (Milliyetçi Hareket Partisi) 70 71 70
Hüseyin Tayfun İçli Democratic Left Party (Demokratik Sol Parti) 13 14 13

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com