Presidential 2010


The election took place in two rounds, on 17 January and 10 February 2010. In the first round the results were as follows:

Viktor Yanukovych (Party of Regions) 35.32%
Yulia Tymoshenko (All-Ukrainian Union “Fatherland”) 25.05%
Serhiy Tihipko (Independent) 13.05%
Arseniy Yatsenyuk (Independent) 6.96%
Viktor Yushchenko (Independent) 5.45%
Petro Symonenko (Communist Party of Ukraine) 3.54%
Volodymyr Lytvyn (People’s Party) 2.35%
Oleh Tyahnybok (All-Ukrainian Union “Freedom”) 1.43%
Anatoliy Hrytsenko (Independent) 1.20%

and a further nine candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Votes: 24,588,268
Turnout: 67%

In the second round, which took place on 7 February 2010, Yulia Tymoshenko received 45.47% of the vote. Viktor Yanukovych received 48.95% of the vote and was therefore declared president. Turnout in the second round was approximately 69%.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact