Parliamentary 2006


Elections to the National Assembly were held on 28 September 2006.

The Movement for Multiparty Democracy *74
Patriotic Front 44
United Democratic Alliance 27
United Party for National Development
United National Independence Party
Forum for Democracy and Development
United Liberal Party 2
National Democratic Focus 1
Independent 2
Appointed members 8
Total 158

*Includes the two seats that the MMD won in the by-elections held on 26 October 2006.

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact