Presidential 2011


An election took place on 20 September 2011.

Michael C Sata (Patriotic Front) 41.98%
Rupiah B Banda (Multi-Party Democracy) 35.42%
Hakainde Hichilema (National Development) 18.17%

and a further 7 candidates who each received less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 5,167,154
Votes: 2,789,340
Turnout: 53.98%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact