Presidential 2008


An election took place on 30 October 2008.

Rupiah Banda (Multi-Party Democracy) 40.09%
Michael Sata (Patriotic Front) 38.13%
Hakainde Hichilema (National Development) 19.70%
Godfrey Miyanda (Heritage) 0.76%

Registered electors: 3,944,135
Votes: 1,791,806
Turnout: 45.43%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact