Parliamentary 2013


An election took place on 31 July 2013.

House of Assembly

Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front 160
Movement for Democratic Change-Tsvangirai 49
Movement for Democratic Change-Ncube 0
Independents 1
Total 210


According to the Constitution the Senate has 93 members. Of these:

  • 60 are elected, with 6 coming from each of 10 provinces
  • 10 provincial governors, appointed by the incoming President, are ex officio members
  • The President and Deputy President of the Council of Chiefs are ex officio members
  • 16 chiefs are elected by the Provincial Assemblies of Chiefs.
  • The Chiefs traditionally vote with ZANU-PF
  • 5 members are directly appointed by the incoming President.

In the Senate elections results were as follows:

MDC-Tsvangirai 21
MDC-Ncube 2
Total 60


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com