186 million Indonesians vote today for 532 legislatures


Around 186 million Indonesians will be eligible to vote in today’s general election. The election covers pretty much every elected level of government except president; that election will take place on 9th July.

If you want in depth coverage then have a look at this website for lots more information.

The basics are that 185,822,507 (at the last count) eligible voters will be voting for four levels of government and 532 legislatures. There will be 775 million ballot papers in circulation to allow voters to vote for 19,699 elected positions across the four legislative levels and they will have from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. local time to vote at one of 550,000 polling stations. There are about 200,000 candidates standing in the elections.

Looking at the different legislatures, there are the 560 seats in the People’s Representative Council (DPR) (Also often referred to as the House of Representatives) and they are elected from 77 multi-member electoral districts with each district electing between three and ten members.

There are 132 seats contested for the Regional Representative Council (DPD), four from each of the 33 provinces.

In the 33 provinces the Regional Representative Council Level 1 (DPRD 1) elects 2,112 seats today and the 497 Regency or Regional Representative Council Level 11 (DPRD 11) will elect 16,895 representatives.

The 12 parties contesting the elections plus three in Aceh are as follows with their ballot number:

1. Nasdem Party (Partai Nasdem)
2. National Awakening Party (Partai Kebangkitan Bangsa, PKB)
3. Prosperous Justice Party (Partai Keadilan Sejahtera, PKS)
4. Indonesian Democratic Party – Struggle (Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan, PDI–P)
5. Golkar Party (Partai Golongan Karya, Golkar)
6. Great Indonesia Movement Party (Partai Gerakan Indonesia Raya, Gerindra)
7. Democratic Party (Partai Demokrat, PD)
8. National Mandate Party (Partai Amanat Nasional, PAN)
9. United Development Party (Partai Persatuan Pembangunan, PPP)
10. People’s Conscience Party (Partai Hati Nurani Rakyat, Hanura)
11. Aceh Peace Party (Partai Damai Aceh, PDA)
12. Aceh National Party (Partai Nasional Aceh, PNA)
13. Aceh Party (Partai Aceh)
14. Crescent Star Party (Partai Bulan Bintang, PBB)
15. Indonesian Justice and Unity Party (Partai Keadilan dan Persatuan Indonesia, PKPI)

Most pollsters are predicting a win for the opposition former President Megawati Sukarnoputri’s Indonesian Democratic Party – Struggle (PDI-Perjuangan), largely because they selected the highly popular Jakarta Governor, Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, to be their presidential candidate. The latest polls gave the PDI-P around 24.5% of the vote, up from their 2009 figure of 14.03%.

The Party of the Functional Groups or Golkar as it is better known is expected to come second with about 14.9%, in 2009 they took 14.45% of the vote.

The Great Indonesia Movement Party or Gerindra is probably going to be the third largest party with around 10.5% support compared with 4.46% in 2009.

President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono’s Democratic Party (PD) is likely to get around 5% of the vote, down from 20.85% in 2009. A general malaise and corruption seems to have settled into the ruling party and few believe that it will do well today.

The top three parties this time are more secular and less Islamic than some of the other parties and are more likely to follow a religious pluralism and tolerance approach.

Results are likely to take about a month to be compiled from across the 17,000 plus islands nation. There will be some unofficial exit polls which should give us some idea of how things have turned out within 24 hours of the poll closing.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact