26 states left to vote


Polling day has arrived for the third and final phase of the Nigerian elections. The massive voting ritual started on 9th April with voting for the bicameral parliament, then on 16th April Nigerians voted for a president. Today they will have the chance to vote for state governors and state legislators.

In total, 26 states out of a possible 36 will be polling. Two states have had their polls delayed until Thursday because of the post presidential election violence which left more than 500 people dead. These two states are Kaduna and Bauchi , both in the north of the country.

A further five states will wait another year to poll because a court has ruled that their governors have one more year to run. They are Adamawa, Bayelsa, Cross River, Sokoto and Kogi.

There will be elections in 48 constituencies for the House of Representatives and further elections for 15 Senate seats. These were delayed from 9th April following technical problems with the ballot papers.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact