AAP win massive victory in Delhi


The ruling national party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken a hammering in the Delhi Legislative Assembly elections which took place last Saturday.

The final figures have not been released as yet, but the anti-corruption Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) looks to have taken 59 seats, up from 28 seats in 2013 in the 70 seat assembly. The BJP looks like taking ten seats, down from 32 seats in 2013. The once great Indian National Congress (INC) looks like it has been wiped out completely; in 2013 it won just eight seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has accepted defeat and has congratulated the leader of the AAP and future Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal. Mr Kejriwal is reported to have told a large victory crowd that “This is not a victory of the AAP. This is a victory for truth and honesty.”

The result is the first defeat for the BJP since it won the general election last May.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact