Australian Capital Territory votes today


Voters are voting for 17 members of the Australian Capital Territory legislative assembly today.

Voting takes place across 86 polling stations from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time with 74 candidates from seven parties standing for the 17 seats.

In 2008 Labor, who also control the federal parliament, won the election taking seven seats. The Liberals took six seats and the Greens won four seats. Recent opinion polling by the Patterson Research Group suggests that a similar result is likely today with Labor on 44.5%, the Liberals on 35.5% and the Greens with 14.5% of the vote. Katy Gallagher, the Labor leader, is likely to be returned as Chief Minister.

Pre-polling voting was described by the electoral commission as heavy.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact