BJP takes Haryana and Maharashtra State Assemblies


The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Haryana State Legislative Assembly election outright and emerged as the largest party in Maharashtra.

In the larger of the two states, Maharashtra, the BJP took around 27% of the vote and 122 seats in the 288 seat Legislative Assembly. That is an increase of 76 seats on the 2009 elections and puts them in the driving seat but short of the 145 seats needed for a majority.

Shiv Sena, a long-time ally of the BJP but with whom they had a falling out during the campaign came second with 63 seats, up from 44 seats in 2009. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), a long-time ally of the Indian national Congress (INC) has offered to support the BJP in forming a government, giving them some leverage in discussions with Shiv Sena.

The NCP won 41 seats, down from their 62 seats in the 2009 election. But it was the Indian National Congress (INC) who suffered worst in the election, dropping 40 seats from 82 in 2009 to 42 seats today.

The result in Haryana was even worse for the Indian National Congress; they dropped from 40 seats in 2009 to just 15 seats in 2014. The BJP took overall control with 47 seats, up from four seats in 2009. The third party in the 90 seat Legislative Assembly of any interest was the Indian National Lok Dal, a state party, which dropped from 31 seats in 2009 to 19 seats today. Two smaller parties also took seats.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact