Buhari elected President


Just before 5 p.m. this evening local time President Goodluck Jonathan rang his main opponent in the Presidential election, Muhammadu Buhari, to congratulate him and to concede defeat in the election.

Official results have not yet been announced but Buhari looks set to have won in 20 of the 36 states plus the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Buhari swept the north, west and most of the central states with Goodluck Jonathan winning only in his strongholds in the south. Figures we have seen suggest that Buhari of the All Progressive Congress (APC) took 14,953,378 votes. Goodluck Jonathan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) which has controlled government since the end of army rule in 1999, took around 12,827,522 votes.

One of the major concerns was that whoever won there would be violence across the country. The way in which the President has conceded defeat and accepted the result has set an example which the authorities hope will minimise the violence.

An APC statement said that Maj. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) had said that “anybody happy with the victory of the APC in the presidential election will not be involved in the molestation of opponents or the destruction of their property. He or she is not with me, whoever does that.”

Note: 1st April update. At 3.15 a.m. on Wednesday 1st April the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared that Muhammadu Buhari had received 15,424,921votes and Goodluck Jonathan took 12,853,162 votes. INEC declared that Buhari had won in 22 states and obtained 25% of votes cast in 27 states. Consequently INEC Chairman and Chief Returning Officer of the polls, Professor Attahiru Jega, said that Buhari “stands elected as President”.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact