Coalition deal reached


The three parties who have come together to form a new coalition government in Luxembourg after the 20th October general election have announced that they have agreed on a programme. As yet the details of the programme have not been released but the parties have named the portfolios to be allocated to each party. The new government holds 32 of the 60 seats in the Chamber of Deputies.

In the 20th October election the Christian Social People’s Party (CSV), although the largest party once more, and its leader Jean-Claude Juncker, the Prime Minister since 1995, were defeated.

The three parties forming the coalition are expected to announce their programme and Cabinet on Tuesday. The current government will resign on the morning of the 4th December and the new Cabinet appointed.

The Wort website reports the portfolio allocations as follows:

Democratic Party (DP): Prime Minister and Ministry of State, finance, treasury, budget, family, integration, education and vocational training, children and youth, higher education and research, housing, agriculture, consumer protection, communication and media, culture, religious affairs, Greater Region and parliamentary relations.

Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP): Vice-Premier, economy and foreign trade, middle classes, tourism, foreign affairs, immigration and asylum, defence, police, cooperation and humanitarian aid, health, social security, public service, administrative reform, labour and employment, interior affairs, equal opportunities and sport.

The Greens (Déi Gréng)Justice, sustainable development, infrastructure, transport, environment, water management, public works and land development.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact