East Timor

East Timor votes for a new President


The 743,214 voters of East Timor (Timor-Leste) have gone to the polls today to elect a new president. They are voting across 941 polling stations between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m. Out of country voting is available at the Portugal, and Australian diplomatic missions.

If no candidate gains more than 50% of the vote a second round will be held on 20th April.

There are eight presidential candidates and they appear on the ballot paper in the following order:

Antonio Maher Lopes; Socialist Party of Timor
Francisco Guterres; Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (FRETILIN)
Amorim Vieira; Independent
José António de Jesus das Neves; Independent
José Luís Guterres; Frenti-Mudança
Angela Freitas; Labour Party
Luís A. Tilman; Independent
António da Conceição; Democratic Party

Francisco Guterres of FRETILIN and António da Conceição of the Democratic Party are expected to be the frontrunners.

Incumbent President Taur Matan Ruak is not eligible to stand.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com