East Timor

East Timor votes for Parliament


All 65 seats of the National Parliament of East Timor are up for election today. The country votes as a single proportional representation constituency and parties must exceed a 3% threshold to gain any seats.

Each party must submit a list of 65 candidates and every fourth member on the list must be a woman. There are 21 parties registered for the election.

In the 2007 election the National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT) came second with 18 seats but went on to form a coalition government with CNRT leader, Xanana Gusmão, becoming prime minister. The Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (FRETILIN) came first with 21 seats and eventually went into opposition.

645,000 eligible voters are able to vote between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m. local time.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com