Election for President in progress


Around 4.35 million eligible voters will vote today to elect a new president for Tajikistan. The incumbent president Emomali Rahmon is widely expected to be re-elected for a fourth term; he has been in office since 1994.

Six candidates have officially registered for the 2013 presidential election and they are:

Olim Boboyev (Economic Reform Party)
Tolibbek Bukhoriyev (Agrarian Party)
Abduhalim Ghafforov (Socialist Party)
Saidjaffar Ismonov (Democratic Party)
Emomali Rahmon (People’s Democratic Party)
Ismoil Talbakov (Communist Party)

Two parties, the Social Democratic Party and the Islamic Revival Party, are boycotting the election. Paraschiva Badescu, the head of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) election observer mission said in an interview with Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) that “the competitiveness and genuine debates [between candidates] are still missing.”

In reality there has only been one campaign, the president’s, which has taken all the media space and travelled the country whilst others have struggled to gain any sort of traction.

The 3,158 polling stations opened at 6 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m. local time. There are 61 polling stations in missions outside the country.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com