Elections dates for five states announced


The Indian Election Commission has announced the dates for five states to hold their elections early in the new year. All states are due for election with the last elections taking place in 2007.

Goa with 40 legislative assembly seats will vote on 3rd March. It has an electorate of 1,011,637. Goa is a small state on the mid western coast of India.

Manipur is a small state in north-eastern India abutting with Myanmar (Burma). There are 60 legislative assembly seats up for election with 1,677,270 voters taking part in the polls on 28th January.

Punjab in north west India will vote on 30th January for 117 legislative assembly seats. The electorate is 17,433,408.

Uttarakhand in northern India has 70 legislative assembly seats and 5,740,148 voters. They will be voting on 30th January 2012.

Uttar Pradesh (UP) is the largest of the five states to vote in the new year. Situated in northern India it borders with Nepal and has an electorate of 111,916,689. Elections for the 403 seat legislative assembly will take place in seven phases, all in February, on 4th, 8th, 11th, 15th, 19th, 23rd and 28th.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact