Federal Council elected


The Swiss Parliament completed their election of the Federal Council, often referred to as the Cabinet on 14th December. The only new member was Alain Berset of the Social Democratic Party (SP/PS) who replaced his colleague Micheline Calmy-Rey, also a Socialist.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf was elected President for 2012, the post rotates between the Federal Council members annually.

The final list of council members giving their party, date first elected and order of election is:

Doris Leuthard, Environment, (Christian Democrat CVP/PDC – centre) Transport and Communications Minister (elected 14th June 2006)
Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, (Conservative Democrat BDP/PBD – centre-right) Finance Minister (13th December 2007)
Ueli Maurer, (Swiss People’s Party UDC/SVP – right) Defence, Civil protection and Sport Minister (10th December 2008)
Didier Burkhalter, (Conservative Democrat BDP/PBD – centre-right) Foreign Minister (16th September 2009)
Simonetta Sommaruga, (Social Democratic Party SP/PS – left) Justice and Police Minister (22nd September 2010)
Johann Schneider-Ammann, (FDP.Liberals PLR – centre right) Economy Minister (22nd September 2010)
Alain Berset, (Social Democratic Party SP/PS – left) Interior Minister (14th December 2011).

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com